×
Menu

Client Access Permission Definitions


Whilst most permissions are set to either on or off, can access or can not access something, the permissions in relation to viewing and editing Client data are not as straight forward. There are 10 categories of Client Access permissions that can be set against a role, along with four options that effect the addition and viewing of documents, emails, SMS and Phone Call History. These are defined in the table below.
 
Permission ID
Permission Name
Effect on
Demographics
Effect on
History
Effect on
Consultations
Effect on
Documents
4000
Clients - Can View All Client Names & Demographics
View All
N/A
N/A
N/A
4001
Clients - Can Edit All Client Names & Demographics
Edit All
N/A
N/A
N/A
4002
Clients - Can View All Client History & Consultations
View All
View All
View All
N/A
4003
Clients - Can Edit All Client History & Consultations
Edit All
Edit All
Edit All
N/A
4004
Clients - Can View Own Client Names & Demographics
View Own
N/A
N/A
N/A
4005
Clients - Can Edit Own Client Names & Demographics
Edit Own
N/A
N/A
N/A
4006
Clients - Can View Own Clients, History & All Consultations
View Own
View Own
View Own - all consults
N/A
4007
Clients - Can Edit Own Clients, History & All Consultations
Edit Own
Edit Own
Edit Own - edits all consults for own clients (regardless of the practitioner the appointment was with)
N/A
4008
Clients - Can View Own Clients, History & Own Consultations Only
View Own
View Own
View Own - own consults
N/A
4009
Clients - Can Edit Own Clients, History & Own Consultations Only
Edit Own
Edit Own
Edit Own - own consults only
N/A
4010
Clients - Can Edit Own Clients, History & Own Consultations Only & View all other Consultations*
Edit Own
Edit Own
Edit Own - own consults, View All consults for own Clients (regardless of Practitioner appointment was with)
N/A
 
 
 
 
 
 
4019
Clients - No access to Documents
N/A
N/A
N/A
None
4020
Clients - Can View List of Documents and Add
N/A
N/A
N/A
View/Add
4021
Clients - Can View List Open and Edit All Documents**
N/A
N/A
N/A
View Open/Edit All
4022
Clients - Can View List Open and Edit Own Documents
N/A
N/A
N/A
View Open/Edit Own
4023
Clients - Can Delete Documents
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
4030
Clients - Permitted to Delete Clients
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
 
* Permissions 4010 is a cut down version of 4007. For Clients that are defined as their Own, the only consultations that can be edited are those that the Practitioner has carried out themselves (e.g. their name is the practitioner against the appointment) but if that Client has had appointments with other practitioners, then they can view those as well.
** Permission 4021 works in a functional sense as it is supposed to for all Roles, but from a visual sense it 'looks' wrong for 'Own Clients All Consults' role as it sets all docs available for all Clients not just 'Own' clients. Functionally this is ok as the Role User cannot access the client due to the demographics permission being set to 'None'
 
 

Definitions

Client Access table
Holds the definitions of which user can access which client
Own Client
A client that a Practitioner is specified as the primary practitioner for (OR) where a practitioner has View or Edit demographic permissions defined for that Client
Own Consultations
Displays only the consultations for a Client where that Practitioner was the practitioner who carried out the consultation
All Clients
Where a user has access to all Clients in the database irrespective of who is assigned as the primary practitioner
All Consultations
Displays all consultations for a Client that a practitioner has access to, regardless of whether that consultation was carried out by that practitioner or another practitioner
Primary Practitioner
Practitioner who is given Primary access to a Clients records
There can be only one.
 
Implicitly grants the practitioner the right to grant access to other practitioners.
 
For a New Client the Default Primary Practitioner is:
1. If the logged in User is a Practitioner, then user becomes Primary Practitioner
2. If the Office has only one practitioner, then that practitioner becomes Primary Practitioner.
Secondary Practitioner
Practitioner who has rights to view or edit a Client's information as specified in the Client Access table but who is not defined as the Primary Practitioner
 
 

Setting Client Access permissions for a Role

 
Each role has a series of Client access permissions set by default. These are defined in the title of the Role. The Client access permissions within a defined role, or in a new role can be changed by doing the following:
 
From System > Manage Permissions
 
OR
 
System > Options > User Administration > Permissions > Manage Roles and Permissions
 
Open the Role that needs updating
Scroll down the to Clients (4000 permissions series)
 
 
Click on one of the hyperlinks
The Client Permissions Management screen will display
 
 
Select the relevant permission/s from the first 5 boxes
  • Choosing a permission from the screen will enable any other dependent permissions based on the table above.
     
Select the relevant Document, Email, SMS and Phone History permissions
 
Use the Clear All button to start again if need be
 
Click OK
The relevant permissions will be displayed in the Roles permissions list.